Amal Clooney doesn’t cook ….

DSCF2855

Sal Scognamillo, chef at Patsy’s restaurant, wanted to give his cookbook to Amal Clooney. This one refused it with the phrase “I don’t cook and I will never learn cooking”. Everyone is free to cook or not in his life, but Sal Scognamillo is a star chef and a great friend of George. Why to refuse it ? Amal’s “penne alla marinara” were so exquisite that she asked after the ingredients.

What do you think ? Diva or not diva attitude ?

 Here to buy the cookbook 🙂 22$

http://www.amazon.com/Patsys-Italian-Family-Cookbook-Scognamillo/dp/1250039398

51MEVFtMwzL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_ 51AjRTNbNtL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Amal Clooney on the same evening

592a6a730d026395e9d594dfd97b803dfbb760d8 (1)

46 thoughts on “Amal Clooney doesn’t cook ….

  1. Hi there,
    up to the latest news, I really was a A.C. fan, but my impression is, that all the media, success and above all catching the most sexiest man alive, is negative for some kind of characters. Unfortunately.

    Like

    • I agree. Very very sad if she is letting her ego get the better of her. I was such a fan myself…hoping the comment was taken out of context but I am disappointed nonetheless that she can’t cook. I find any adult that can’t cook a bit pathetic! It’s not a hard skill to learn!

      Like

  2. I seriously doubt the quote in question is accurate. A high powered attorney in the public eye would never make such a rude gesture or statement, let alone a human rights lawyer married to an activist movie star who are both known for their concern for others. It doesn’t ring true. I suspect it has either been taken out of context, misheard, or just made up for whatever reason.

    Like

      • Nati, actually, I kind of believe she did say something of a kind, you know why?
        Do you remember when you pointed out to me the the video and the 2 guys behind her taking pictures and laughing like crazy at something she said?
        There you go… 😉

        Like

    • I rather doubt it was a correct quote too. I can’t imagine that she would say that. My guess is she accepted the book, but also said something about how she doesn’t cook herself – which is fine. Lots of people have no interest in cooking.

      Like

      • Yes I heard from another magazine she said something like “you want me to cook now?” I think it was US Weekly. So who knows exactly… But I’m still a fan whether she cooks or not;)

        Like

    • I agree with you Psemsk, i think it must have been taken out of context to say the least. I observed her on the red carpet in different moments where she could had been rude, but she was graceful. I strongly doubt she is that type. She may not cook, that is ok, no crime. But to say it in any let down way to George of his friends, i highly doubt it!

      Like

  3. si mirais el video de la salida del restaurante, la mama de George lleva una bolsa negra de tela con el libro de cocina dentro y su amiga tambien. Al final del video, cuando Amal va a entrar en el coche y george está detras de ella, George lleva tambien la misma bolsa con el libro de cocina que sería el libro de su mujer. Por lo que Amal no rechazó el libro, seguramente ella dijo bromeando algo gracioso y todo se saca de contexto.

    A mi no me gusta cocinar y suelo bromear tambien con estas cosas. No todas las mujeres tenemos la obligacion de cocinar sólo por ser mujeres – en mi caso, es mi novio el que cocina y hace la compra porque le encanta y yo no me averguenzo de ello, al contrario me encanta decirles a mis amigas que tengo un chef en casa y yo no hago nada.

    hay que dejar ya esas opiniones machistas sobre todo de las mujeres

    Estamos en el Siglo XXI –

    Like

    • Bien visto Laura!!! yo no me había fijado en las bolsas. Definitivamente, para mi está claro que no rechazaron el libro. Y enhorabuena por tu chef, jeje 🙂

      Like

    • concordo con ustedes, Amal may not be perfect but she has more class than that. I am sure she gracefully accepted the book. BTW, I WANT THAT BOOK !! hahah

      Like

  4. There was another article about this instance, I think it was on eonline, where it said that the chef did not present the book to her….George had received the book and then was showing it to her, and then she jokingly said to George, “are you expecting me to cook? I don’t cook!”. She was teasing her husband, not being rude to anyone else.

    Like

    • That sounds more like Amal, she is very playful! Check her interview with Nancy O’dell and you can certify her grace and playful nature. She may not cook but she likes to DJ at friends parties, i read:) Cant’ do it all!!

      Like

  5. I’m going to try to explain in English, I hope to do it. I think the sentence could be an apparent feminist stance, not feminist for me. But even you can say that, if you want, for the record, without refusing the present. It’s just a matter of courtesy. Thanks Nati, as always, for your work.

    Like

  6. When there is just one comment it often can be misunderstood. She could have been saying it but in a friendly joking manner. OR, she may be finding her way through becoming a celebrity with a completely new and privileged life style. She can have anything she wants. Maybe this has made her somewhat arrogant for now but hopefully she will find her way and be kind and not a spoiled diva. So, I guess I feel that it is hard to tell what she is like from one comment, but I do believe she doesn’t cook and has no interest in cooking!

    Like

  7. Acctually, I would be offended, but, ok, apologized, because chef is Italian and all that family, tradition and “mamma mia”… , but really! it’s time for gender equality. Why he didn t give the book to George??? After all, he spent more time at home than she does. So no, no diva, just high profile hard working woman. Angelina Jolie doesn’t cook, Angela Merkel, Hilary Clinton, Oprah, …. 🙂

    Like

  8. I doubt a lot of things in the media. And if she did refuse his cookbook, explaining that she doesn’t cook and never will, you don’t know how she said those words. It comes off in text as dismissive and snobby, like she’s not “the help” and how on earth could anyone expect a princess like her get her hands dirty in the kitchen. But maybe it’s more like she “hopeless” in the kitchen even with the cookbook.

    Anyway, it’s hard to judge unless someone has video evidence!

    Like

  9. I agree with Psemsk comment. Amal could even had refused to accept the book, but I believe she would have done it in a more graceful way. Something like, Oh I would love to but I don’t think that would be fair to you as I don’t cook. What a pity. Shame on me, etc, etc.
    Sometimes self-deprecation comes in handy and I think it fits more her style than this Madonna kind of answer posted on this article. Having said that, I would have accepted the book, even if I didn’t cook, as I believe my guests would love to turn its pages as it sat in my coffee table. ;P

    Like

    • One thing for sure, this darn book will become a Best-Seller now hahahahaha everyone is so sorry for the Chef and poor little book ( i want one haha) …. i doubt Amal refused but…. wow…! what a great marketing tool for that book now haha

      Like

  10. There are a couple of different versions of this story doing the rounds. The alternate one is that the cookbook was given by the chef to George, he showed it to Amal and she responded with a ‘What? You expect me to cook? I don’t cook.’ In which case, a lighthearted jokey response by someone who probably doesn’t cook much (or who might not be very good at it), in company that would take it as a lighthearted jokey response.

    I’d say it’s the latter as I find it hard to believe that anyone could be that lacking in basic grace and manners to refuse a gift that came from (a passionate cook’s) heart. Also, the fact she said his “penne alla marinara” was exquisite to the degree that she asked for the ingredients suggests she was hugely appreciative of his skills. So, I would say this is most likely the true version of events. 🙂

    Like

    • I agree with you Morna. The alternative version sounds funny, better and most accurate with her personality. As Laura reminds in Spanish, in the video you could see that George and his mother carried a black bag when they’re leaving the restaurant, probably with the book

      Like

  11. Can’t believe I am leaving a comment on this…but since I am following up on this couple for God know what deep subconscious reasons we all are interested in other peoples’ business…especially famous people, as we are really waiting for them to miss a step and trip so it seems…from this story the only thing that is of value I believe, is that a)We should try Patsy’s restaurant if we get a chance since it seems to be very good Italian food, and b)Maybe the cookbook would look good on a coffee table and c)I wonder if it comes in e-book. Other than that, I enjoy watching what Mrs. Clooney is wearing, I enjoyed her visit here in Greece although there are talks her services cost more than a couple of average yearly salaries combined twice over, and really I hope they find peace with each other and away from our lurking glances…

    Like

  12. Additionally, and maybe you should do a piece on that, instead of scanning her closet options, or her personal outings with her new husband, what about we turn the lenses on us and take a moment to consider why we are so deeply interested in this woman since her relationship with a famous actor was revealed. Are we interested because she is a woman with a higher education and successful legal career, and if so, why are we not interested in the causes she supports, through her firm, and privately. What about the causes her husband supports, are we merely interested in their combined external image, and what does that make of us if not to the very least superficial, myself included.

    Like

    • Anna, that’s a great question. I think many of us are interested in the causes she supports, as many of the discussions on this blog demonstrate. As for me personally, I am interested in how she, obviously an intelligent, professional woman, expresses herself and her values through fashion. I loved her quirky, pre-wedding style. She seemed not only intelligent, but in many ways unique and fun. Her current obsession with mega pricey haute couture is neither unique, fun or intelligent. It just screams “Look at me. I have a lot of money.” And if it is true that she wears real fur, it also shows she doesn’t care about cruelty to other creatures. That is nothing to admire.

      Like

    • I think we all find her fascinating because she exudes what we are or aspire to be, smart, kind , beautiful women who can have it all and look good doing it. She has that familiarity of ” If she can achieve it, then we all can!”

      Like

  13. I can totally picture Amal saying that, and I don’t think its particularly “diva-ish” if she is laughing and saying it in a humorous tone. My impression is that it is very common among active career women to not be particularly interested in cooking and other homely things. To me, Amal seems like a friendly and polite woman, always smiling.

    Like

  14. I was sad to hear she doesn’t cook – whether she said it like a diva or in a more joking way. I truly think being able to cook well is such an important life skill and feel sad for people who never get to learn and enjoy the pleasure that making great food brings! I do find those people who never make the effort to cook to be abiy lazy/snobby. I have a “high powered career” myself, yet I still know my way around a kitchen. Couldn’t imagine eating out 24/7. With George I imagine they have a personal chef but how did she survive before meeting him? Did she just live on salads and takeaway food?!

    Like

  15. I’m sure she can cook. She probably can and doesn’t enjoy it…neither do I. The comment was lighthearted and just trying to be funny with her husband.

    Like

  16. Mr Clooney’s fans are mostly everyday housewives, maybe she was letting it be known she was MORE than just that. I think he is aware she is more than just this. He must have already been in a position where it would have been nice of her to take over the cooking and she did not.
    I think it a stupid crazy remark to make, it is almost saying “don’t expect me to cook, I am better than that” And she is, if she thinks she is. And she obviously does.
    “Such are the dreams of the everyday housewife”, Amal’s husband was one of my dreams, their perfect marriage another. Now I see Amal has walked on my dreams. “Don’t expect me to be a fan, or pay at the box office”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

